ABCOOL

ABCOOL 17" LED Drawing Board Review

LED Drawing Board for Kids, 17" Rechargeable Doodle Glow LED Note Board with Colors, TOP Kids Gifts Toy for Girls Ages 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10+ Years Old, 4-12th Ideal Birthday Present (2026 New)

90.0 GiftScore

Intro

This LED Drawing Board from ABCOOL is a compact light-up doodle pad that markets itself as a kid’s art-and-learning gift. The listing presents it as a "rechargeable 7-color light effects LED drawing Pad" sized at 13.7" x 10" and sold with a handful of accessories: multi-color markers, tracing papers, a USB-C cable, a small spray bottle and cleaning cloth, gloves, hanging hardware and a user manual. Owners who bought it for kids and classrooms consistently praise the glowing neon effect and the kit-style packaging — but there are recurring caveats: the surface can show fingerprints and scratch if you’re careless, the stand/hanger arrangement can be a little fiddly, and the charging/battery details in the listing are ambiguous. This review walks through what the product actually is, how families and teachers are using it, and the real gift risks you should check before you order.

What it is / first look

On first look, this is a tabletop-sized acrylic drawing board with LED lighting built into a plastic frame. The listing specifies the product material as acrylic and plastic and lists the unit dimensions as 13.7" wide by 10" high with an item weight of 0.43 kg. The product is described by the manufacturer as "double-sided" and "eco-friendly illuminated," and the spec sheet calls out features such as "scratch resistant," "stain resistant," "lightweight" and "portable." It also ships with a USB-C cable for charging and — per the included components — a rechargeable 7-color light effects pad, 7 colorful markers, double-sided tracing papers, a spray bottle and cloth for cleaning, and a user manual.

Owners report the visual effect is the standout: using the right marker color against a matching LED color makes strokes glow like neon, and the white/neutral lighting mode works for tracing or note-writing in daytime. The kit feel is strong — multiple buyers mention receiving tracing books, gloves (to reduce fingerprints), a small spray bottle and a microfiber cloth, plus hanging chains and screws.

Who this is a good gift for

Be specific about recipient and context — this is a toy-first, art-and-learning-present. The suggestions below are grounded in the listing and repeat signals from owners.

The tracing-beginner or early-learner (ages 3–8)

  • The product title and listing position it for kids in roughly the 3–12+ age bracket, and the manufacturer highlights learning uses like letter and number practice. Owners report that the glowing effect helps younger kids stay engaged while tracing and practicing, and the included tracing sheets are specifically called out as useful for that purpose.

A classroom or after-school teacher who wants a fun visual tool

  • Several buyers have used the board in school settings. Owners describe it as useful for quick demonstrations, attention-grabbing notes, or a Pictionary-style game board during class. The listing also lists "school" as a recommended use.

A practical gift from grandparents or relatives who want a present that gets used

  • Owners note it’s often unboxed and played with immediately — it’s described as a better “interactive” gift than another pair of pajamas because kids tend to come back to it repeatedly. Buyers reported it traveling well around the house because it’s cordless (when charged) and lightweight.

A low-cost art-upgrade for a small craft corner

  • If the recipient already enjoys drawing, tracing, or light-up decor for a bedroom, the neon effect adds a decorative edge. One owner also mentioned using it as a message/decor board for seasonal notes and party signage.

Assumptions you must verify: confirm the marker size (some owners received small/sample markers rather than full-sized replacements), check mounting needs (the kit offers both tabletop and hanging hardware), and be comfortable with a product that needs some surface-care (owners repeatedly mention fingerprints and the risk of light scratching).

In daily use

Owners describe two main daily-use patterns: creative play and functional messaging. For creative play, kids trace or freehand drawings and switch LED colors to make neon effects. For functional messaging, the board is used to write notes, scores for games, or small signs; owners liked its portability for moving it between a nightstand, desk or wall.

Lighting control: the listing advertises "7-color light effects," and owners add practical detail: you can cycle modes and adjust brightness via the device buttons. One owner’s notes describe an on/off press-to-cycle method, plus up/down brightness control and a printed battery-level indicator that shows 25/50/75/100% segments. That same owner reported the board will work while plugged in, which lets you use it cordless or with power attached during longer sessions.

Cleaning and surface care: the board is dry-erase style — owners say drawings can be erased with the included cloth and a small spray bottle. The listing calls it "stain resistant" and "dry erase," but a consistent owner theme is to be gentle while wiping: fingerprints and oils show on the acrylic surface, and aggressive scrubbing can mark it. Several owners noted the supplied gloves are a helpful extra to avoid smudges while drawing; one owner said the gloves are adult-sized and may not fit smaller children well.

Stand vs. hang: the product ships with a fold-out bracket (kickstand) and hanging hardware. Owner feedback is mixed — some praise the stability of the screw-on legs and premium legs claim in the listing, while others say the kickstand can be a little wobbly and leaning the board against something solid is often the simplest table setup.

Materials & build quality

What the listing states: the frame material is plastic and the writing surface is listed as acrylic and plastic. The additional-features list asserts the panel is "dent resistant," "scratch resistant" and "stain resistant." The item weight is 0.43 kg and the size is 13.7" x 10".

Owner observations: many owners praise the visual finish and say the acrylic looks high-quality and modern when lit. Buyers frequently describe the board as lightweight and portable, and several comment that the kit arrives with a tidy set of accessories — tracing books, a USB-C cable, gloves, cloth and hanging chain — which makes it feel complete for gifting.

Durability signals and contradictions: while the listing claims scratch resistance, owners repeatedly flag that the clear surface can show fingerprints and scratch if cleaned too aggressively. Multiple owners recommend light cleaning with the included cloth or diluted cleaner and wearing gloves during drawing to reduce oils. One buyer mentioned the sample markers are small and that replacement marker sizing is not clearly specified in the listing; another expected full-size markers and was disappointed when they received smaller samples. The kickstand and hanging options work, but a minority of owners report wobbly table setups — the board is light enough that its stability depends on the surface and how it’s propped.

Safety considerations

Listing claims: the manufacturer describes the board as non-toxic and BPA-free, with a "Full-Sealed back" and rounded corners to prevent accidental scratches. The listing also specifically states there are no small parts that could pose a choking hazard and emphasizes safety for younger kids.

Owner-sourced safety notes: owners confirm the rounded corners and overall child-friendly look, and several specifically appreciate that the kit includes gloves to avoid smudges and reduce direct handling. At the same time, buyers advise supervision for younger kids around the markers because marker caps and small marker bodies can be fiddly and messy — a few owners describe the marker set as sample-sized and worry about losing caps. Also, while the listing calls the product "rechargeable" and it includes a USB-C cable, the official battery details are ambiguous: the product spec page also lists one AAA battery as required and included. A helpful owner dug into the manual and reported a lack of clear battery documentation and suggested the device might use an internal battery; that same owner cautioned that the back is sealed and not designed for user battery access. In short: the board is marketed with several safety features, but buyers should confirm battery type and understand the back is not user-serviceable.

Practical safety checklist for gift shoppers: because the listing mixes signals on power and owners emphasize small marker bits and the possibility of a delicate acrylic surface, treat this as a supervised toy for younger kids (3–5) rather than an unsupervised plaything. Confirm that the recipient won’t try to disassemble the board to find a battery, and advise that the small sample markers and caps be kept out of reach of toddlers.

Who should skip it

  • Very small children under 3 — the title and packaging target 3 years and up; the listing and owners repeatedly reference ages 3–12+, so avoid if you need a toy for an infant or toddler.
  • Buyers who need long, guaranteed battery runtime — the listing does not specify run time and some owners report limited cordless duration (one owner said it "lasts maybe an hour on a full charge"). If long unplugged sessions are essential, consider alternatives with explicit battery/runtime specs.
  • People who expect full-sized replacement markers to be standard — several owners received sample-sized markers and called that out as a disappointment. The listing does not supply clear replacement-marker sizing or part numbers.
  • Shoppers who want a heavy-duty tabletop easel — the board is lightweight and intended for portability; owners report the kickstand is functional but not rock-solid on every surface.

Verdict

For gift shoppers the ABCOOL LED Drawing Board communicates a clear value proposition: it’s a small, light-up, and kit-complete drawing and tracing board that tends to create immediate delight thanks to the neon glow effect. Owners consistently praise the visual result, the tracing book, and the included cleaning accessories. That makes it a solid pick as a thoughtful, practical gift for kids who like art, grandparents who want a present that gets used, or teachers who want a low-cost attention-grabber for classroom activities.

The counterweight to that enthusiasm is a set of repeat, practical caveats: the listing’s battery information is inconsistent with the specs (the product is described as rechargeable and ships with a USB-C cable, but the spec sheet also lists 1 AAA battery required and included), the acrylic surface needs gentle cleaning to avoid visible marks, the markers may arrive sample-sized, and table setup can be a little wobbly depending on how you prop it. Those are not dealbreakers if you manage expectations, but they’re the reasons to call this a "maybe" rather than a slam-dunk gift in some situations.

Check before you buy (quick checklist for gift shoppers)

  • Confirm the power details and charging method on the current listing — the box includes a USB-C cable and the manufacturer describes the unit as rechargeable, but the spec sheet also mentions 1 AAA battery required (included).
  • Ask the seller or check Q&A if replacement marker size/part number matters — owners report sample-sized markers in some packages.
  • Plan for surface care: include alcohol-free lens cleaner or a gentle spray if you want to remove fingerprints without scratching the acrylic (owners recommend the supplied cloth and gloves for this reason).
  • Decide whether the recipient needs a rock-solid tabletop easel — if so, this light-weight board may require a stable support or wall-hanging to be most useful.
  • Check who will supervise: recommended ages start at 3, and owners advise supervision for marker use and handling of small parts.

Bottom line: buy it as a fun, visual, and gift-ready art kit if the recipient is 3–12 and you accept a few practical limits (marker size, surface-care needs, and unclear battery runtime). If you need absolute clarity on battery life, full-size markers, or heavy-duty tabletop stability, verify those specifics with the seller first.

Frequently asked questions

What comes in the box?

The listing says the kit includes a rechargeable 7-color light effects LED drawing pad, 7 colorful markers, double-sided tracing papers, a USB-C cable, a spray bottle and cloth for cleaning, and a user manual. Owners also report receiving gloves and hanging hardware (chain and screws) in many packages.

Is the board rechargeable or battery-powered?

The product is described in the listing as rechargeable and it ships with a USB-C cable; however, the specifications area also lists "1 AAA battery required (included)." Owners note the manual provides limited battery details and at least one reported that the device has a battery-level indicator and works while plugged in. Because of the mixed signals, confirm the current listing or seller notes about power before you buy.

How big is the drawing surface?

The listing gives the unit dimensions as 13.7" wide by 10" high and an item weight of 0.43 kg.

Is it safe for younger kids?

The manufacturer describes the board as non-toxic, BPA-free, with rounded corners and a full-sealed back, and the listing states there are no small parts that could pose a choking hazard. Owners still recommend supervision for younger children due to the marker caps and the possibility of small sample markers, plus the need to avoid rough handling of the acrylic surface.

How long does the battery last on a charge?

The listing does not specify run-time hours. Owners report mixed experience; one owner wrote it "lasts maybe an hour on a full charge," and others note the board will function while plugged in. If battery runtime is important, verify current product details with the seller.

Can I hang it on the wall or use it on a table?

Yes. The listing lists mounting type as Tabletop Mount and Wall Mount; owners mention included hanging chains and a fold-out kickstand. Several buyers say the kickstand works but can be a little wobbly depending on the surface; wall-hanging using the supplied chain tends to be stable.

Are replacement markers full-sized or sample-sized?

The listing does not specify replacement marker dimensions. Owner feedback shows some packages include sample-sized markers and at least one buyer was disappointed when they expected full-sized replacements. Check the current listing or seller Q&A if marker size matters to you.

Think it’s right for your recipient?

Double-check size, age, and species fit on the listing. The same affiliate link covers details and checkout — supports the site at no extra cost to you.

Affiliate disclosure: Links on this page may earn us a commission. You pay the same price; it helps fund more research and comparisons.

See other Painting, Drawing & Art Supplies at Amazon

Not quite it? Find the perfect gift

Tell us who you’re shopping for and we’ll match them to research-backed picks with honest GiftScores.

Answer 5 quick questions — get your 24 personal gift picks 🎁

Who is the gift for?

Pick the person closest to your recipient.

How old are they?

Helps us skip age-inappropriate picks.

Who are they?

We’ll keep gender-specific picks relevant — “Any” is always fine.

What are they into?

Choose up to 6 — this is the biggest driver of great matches.

Budget & occasion

Budget

Occasion (optional)