Gear check

Clinique Black Honey Collection review

Clinique Black Honey Collection | Almost Lipstick, Pop Plush Lipstick, Mascara, Lip + Cheek Oil + Gel Eyeliner

97.5 GiftScore

Intro

This Clinique Black Honey Collection bundles several of the brand’s signature products—Almost Lipstick, a Pop Plush lipstick, mascara, a lip + cheek oil, and a gel eyeliner—into one set. The listing emphasizes the iconic "Black Honey" shade that Clinique says flatters every skin tone, plus a mix of hydrating and long-wear claims for the lip and eye pieces. For gift shoppers this reads like a safe, recognizable-brand makeup set for someone who wears lipstick and eye makeup regularly. Below I walk through what’s in the box, how the formulas are described, who this actually makes a good gift for, and the safety/fit considerations that matter for anyone buying cosmetics as a present.

What it is / first look

The Black Honey Collection is a multi-piece makeup set sold under Clinique’s name. The listing identifies the included items in the title: Almost Lipstick, Pop Plush Lipstick, Mascara, Lip + Cheek Oil, and Gel Eyeliner. The product dimensions listed are 4.96 x 0.87 x 0.87 inches and weigh 1.16 ounces. The listing presents several product claims in bullet form that define the set’s selling points:

  • Black Honey is described by the listing as an "iconic" shade that "flatters every face."
  • Lip coverage is described as sheer and buildable, with hydrating, glossy finishes and a formula that includes hyaluronic acid plus a blend of aloe, avocado, and shea butters (listed by the manufacturer as ingredients intended to hydrate and condition).
  • The eye products include a mascara described as layerable from natural volume to bold drama, and an eyeliner with timed-wear claims: the listing calls out 4-hour wear on lids, 12-hour wear on the waterline, waterproof, transfer-proof, smudge- and budge-resistant, tug-free, and ‘‘safe for waterline.’’
  • Clinique’s safety claims appear across the listing: allergy tested, ophthalmologist tested, appropriate for sensitive eyes and contact lens wearers, and 100% fragrance free.
  • The listing also markets the collection as a social-media favorite, noting Clinique data about the Black Honey lipstick’s popularity (the listing attributes a sales claim to internal Clinique data).

Packaging specifics beyond the product dimensions are not described. The listing’s bullets provide most of the formulation and wear claims; the listing does not detail every ingredient or service-level warranty information in the provided text.

Who this is a good gift for

Makeup sets are personal, so the match matters. Below are practical recipient types where this Clinique set is a suitable gift—each entry points out the assumption that must be true for it to be a comfortable pick.

The everyday lipstick wearer who prefers fuss-free formulas

Why it fits: The listing pitches the lip items as moisturizing, sheer, and buildable, with hyaluronic acid and plant butters listed to help condition lips. Assumption: the recipient likes glossy, hydrating lipwear rather than a matte, long-adhere finish.

The person who uses mascara and eyeliner daily, including contact-lens wearers

Why it fits: The listing explicitly states the eye products are ophthalmologist-tested, safe for sensitive eyes and contact lens wearers, and claims extended waterline wear. Assumption: the recipient prefers clinically tested, eye-safe formulas and will value long-wear/transfer-resistant eye makeup.

A Clinique fan or someone who likes known-brand, low-risk beauty gifts

Why it fits: Clinique is a widely recognized brand and the listing leans into the Black Honey shade being a classic. Assumption: the recipient doesn’t need bespoke shade-matching and appreciates brand-name reliability.

The traveler who likes compact, multi-piece sets

Why it fits: The set packs multiple small items into a single kit; the product dimensions are compact at roughly 5 inches long and under 1.2 ounces listed weight. Assumption: the recipient travels with makeup and appreciates small, stashable items rather than full-size products.

Someone with sensitive eyes or who prefers fragrance-free products

Why it fits: The listing claims allergy testing and 100% fragrance-free formulations—relevant for recipients who are sensitive to fragrance or who prefer ophthalmologist-tested eye makeup. Assumption: the recipient doesn’t have specific ingredient allergies you need to check.

In daily use

What the listing says the set is built to do in normal wear:

  • Lip products: described as ultra-cushiony, hydrating, and glossy with sheer, buildable color. The listing lists hyaluronic acid and a blend of aloe, avocado, and shea butters to support hydration and conditioning.
  • Mascara: described as "layerable" so the formula is meant to let users build from natural volume to more dramatic lashes without an additional product.
  • Gel eyeliner & eye wear: the listing highlights waterproof, transfer-proof, smudge- and budge-resistant performance and specifies timed-wear numbers: 4 hours on lids and 12 hours on the waterline, plus a claim that the product is tug-free and safe for the waterline.

How that translates to routine: If the recipient likes quick lip color with hydration, or eye products they can count on to last an errand or a full day, those are the scenarios this collection is geared toward according to the listing copy. The set reads like a low-fuss, buildable makeup kit rather than a high-precision pro kit that demands shade testing or complex layering.

Materials & build quality

Cosmetic "build" is mostly formula and packaging. The listing provides ingredient-style callouts (not a full INCI list) and a few design claims:

  • Formulation highlights (listed by the manufacturer): hyaluronic acid; aloe, avocado, and shea butters for conditioning and hydration; a glossy, lightweight slip for the lipwear.
  • Makeup performance claims (listed): sheer and buildable lip color; layerable mascara; waterproof, transfer- and smudge-resistant eye formulas with explicit timed-wear claims for lids and waterline.
  • Packaging / size facts: product dimensions are listed (4.96 x 0.87 x 0.87 inches) and a product/package weight of 1.16 ounces. The listing doesn’t itemize each component’s size or show images in the provided text.

What the listing does not specify: exact ingredient lists for every component, packaging materials, whether the set is presented in gift-ready box format, or any third-party manufacturing certifications beyond the allergy/ophthalmologist testing claims. If packaging or full ingredient transparency is important to your recipient (for example, to check a full allergy list), plan to verify those details on the current listing or with Clinique directly.

Safety considerations

The listing includes several safety-focused claims and a couple of product-use notes that matter for shoppers:

  • Allergy tested and 100% fragrance free: both are explicitly stated in the listing text as manufacturer claims.
  • Ophthalmologist tested and appropriate for sensitive eyes and contact lens wearers: the listing calls this out for the eye products and repeats Clinique’s "Eye Safety" promise in the feature bullets.
  • Eye product wear specifics: the listing says 4-hour wear on lids and 12-hour wear on the waterline, and labels the eye items waterproof, transfer-proof, smudge- and budge-resistant, and tug-free—these are usage- and safety-adjacent performance claims listed by the manufacturer.

Gift-safety notes for shoppers:

  • Check ingredient sensitivities: While the listing highlights allergy testing and fragrance-free formulas, it does not present a full ingredient list in the supplied features. If the recipient has known allergies (active botanical sensitivities, latex, etc.), verify full ingredients on the current product page or Clinique’s official documentation before gifting.
  • Contact lens/eye safety: The listing specifically calls the eye products out as safe for contact lens wearers and ophthalmologist-tested. That is useful to rely on if the recipient uses contacts, but as with any eye product, recommend they follow product directions and discontinue use if they experience irritation.
  • Shade and finish: Black Honey is described as a shade that "flatters every face"—that’s a manufacturer claim. If you’re unsure about how the color will read on the recipient, consider a gift receipt option or a complementary add-on (like a Clinique gift card) that lets them exchange if necessary.

Who should skip it

This set is not the right pick for every makeup recipient. Consider skipping or reconsidering for these situations:

  • The recipient who only uses matte, long-adhere lipsticks — the listing describes the lip finishes as glossy, ultra-cushiony, and hydrating rather than a matte or transfer-locked finish.
  • Someone who requires complete ingredient transparency for medical reasons — the listing provides highlight ingredients but does not include the complete INCI list in the provided text; if the recipient has serious allergies, verify full ingredient lists before buying.
  • Realistically picky shade-matchers — the listing calls Black Honey universally flattering, but shade preference is personal; if the recipient is very particular about lip color undertone, this might be a higher-risk gift unless you can confirm they like Clinique’s Black Honey shade.
  • Buyers who want explicit cruelty-free, vegan, or third-party certified claims — the listing does not specify these certifications in the provided text, so if those attributes are deal-breakers, check the current brand documentation or product page.

Verdict

Bottom line: Clinique’s Black Honey Collection is a compact, brand-forward makeup set that leans into a universally touted shade and a combination of hydrating lip formulas plus long-wear, eye-safe eye products. The listing emphasizes allergy testing, ophthalmologist testing for the eye items, and fragrance-free formulas—features that make this set a relatively low-risk, branded gift for someone who likes tinted, hydrating lips and reliable eye makeup.

Best gift fit

Best for a recipient who likes glossy, buildable lip color, wears mascara and eyeliner regularly (including contact lens wearers), and appreciates a recognizable, mainstream brand. If you can confirm the recipient is open to Clinique shades and doesn’t need a strictly matte finish, this set is a safe, thoughtful present.

Biggest buying risk

The largest risk is shade and ingredient transparency: the listing calls Black Honey universally flattering, but individual color preference is personal, and the provided text does not include a full, component-by-component ingredient list. If the recipient has known ingredient sensitivities or is very picky about hue/finish, verify full ingredient details and consider gift options that allow exchanges.

Check before you buy (quick checklist)

  • Confirm the recipient likes glossy, buildable lip finishes (this set is not marketed as matte).
  • Verify any known allergies against the product’s full ingredient list on the current listing or Clinique’s official material.
  • If contact-lens/eye safety is a concern, note the listing’s claim that the eye products are ophthalmologist tested and safe for contact-lens wearers.
  • Decide whether you need gift-ready packaging—packaging specifics aren’t detailed in the listing, so check the product page for photos or add gift wrap at checkout if available.

FAQ

Q: Is this set safe for people with sensitive eyes or contact lenses?

A: The listing states the eye products are ophthalmologist-tested and appropriate for sensitive eyes and contact lens wearers, and it highlights Clinique’s Eye Safety Promise. That is a manufacturer claim listed in the product features.

Q: How long do the eye products last during the day?

A: The listing claims 4-hour wear on lids and 12-hour wear on the waterline for the eye product(s), and describes those formulas as waterproof, transfer-proof, smudge- and budge-resistant.

Q: Does the lip product moisturize?

A: According to the listing, the lip products are hydrating and moisturizing. The listing specifically names hyaluronic acid and a blend of aloe, avocado, and shea butters as ingredients intended to help hydrate and condition lips.

Q: What shade(s) come in this set?

A: The listing centers on Clinique’s "Black Honey" shade as the collection’s signature color, describing it as an iconic shade that "flatters every face." The listing does not enumerate additional colorways in the provided text.

Q: Are the products fragrance-free?

A: The listing repeatedly states the products are 100% fragrance free; that is presented as a manufacturer claim in the feature bullets.

Note: If you have a question about a specific ingredient, packaging detail, or the exact sizes of each included item, the listing’s text does not provide full ingredient lists or component sizes—verify those details on the current product page or Clinique’s official materials before gifting if they matter to the recipient.

Frequently asked questions

Is this set safe for people with sensitive eyes or contact lenses?

The listing states the eye products are ophthalmologist-tested and appropriate for sensitive eyes and contact lens wearers; this is presented as a manufacturer claim in the product features.

How long do the eye products last during the day?

The listing claims 4-hour wear on lids and 12-hour wear on the waterline, and describes the eye formulas as waterproof, transfer-proof, smudge- and budge-resistant.

Do the lip products hydrate?

According to the listing, the lip items are moisturizing and hydrating; the manufacturer notes hyaluronic acid plus a blend of aloe, avocado, and shea butters to help condition lips.

What shade(s) does the collection include?

The listing centers on the iconic "Black Honey" shade and describes it as flattering on many skin tones; the provided text does not list additional colorways.

Are these products fragrance-free?

The listing explicitly states the products are 100% fragrance free.

Think it’s right for your recipient?

Double-check size, age, and species fit on the listing. The same affiliate link covers details and checkout — supports the site at no extra cost to you.

Affiliate disclosure: Links on this page may earn us a commission. You pay the same price; it helps fund more research and comparisons.

See other Makeup at Amazon

Not quite it? Find the perfect gift

Tell us who you’re shopping for and we’ll match them to research-backed picks with honest GiftScores.

Answer 5 quick questions — get your 24 personal gift picks 🎁

Who is the gift for?

Pick the person closest to your recipient.

How old are they?

Helps us skip age-inappropriate picks.

Who are they?

We’ll keep gender-specific picks relevant — “Any” is always fine.

What are they into?

Choose up to 6 — this is the biggest driver of great matches.

Budget & occasion

Budget

Occasion (optional)