Hommater

Hommater S210L 2-Slice Toaster Review

Toaster 2 Slice Wide Slot Toaster Best Rated Prime Display Smart Toasters with LCD Digital Countdown Timer and Bagel/Defrost/Cancel/Reheat Function

93.2 GiftScore

intro

This Hommater S210L is a compact, 2-slice, wide-slot toaster that leans into a digital, user-friendly design: LED countdown display, nine browning levels, and four basic programs (bagel, defrost, reheat, cancel). The listing positions it as an apartment-ready, everyday countertop appliance; owner feedback repeatedly praises the countdown display and even toasting for the price. A few practical caveats show up in owner notes — notably slot length for very long slices and a reportedly short power cord — so this is a solid, budget-minded pick but not a premium kitchen centerpiece.

What it is / first look

At its core the Hommater S210L is a two-slice toaster with a digital LED display and a small set of convenience features the listing highlights. Key listing facts you should know up front:

  • Power: 800 watts (listed)
  • Slots: described as 1.5 inch extra wide slots (listed), advertised to fit bagels, muffins, waffles, Texas toast and similar items
  • Browning: 9 adjustable browning control shapes/levels (listed)
  • Programs/Buttons: 4 basic functions (reheat, cancel, defrost, bagel) (listed)
  • Display: LED countdown timer that shows remaining toasting time (listed)
  • Cleaning/cord: removable crumb tray and built-in cord storage (listed)
  • Material/finish: Plastic and stainless steel, matte finish (listed)
  • Dimensions: 13"D x 5"W x 7"H (listed)

The unit is sold in a black finish (the listing calls it Black or Black-LED). Owners repeatedly call out the LED countdown as the standout feature; several say it removes guesswork and helps them choose a consistent browning level.

Available colors

  • Black (listed as Black / Black-LED)

Who this is a good gift for

Be specific when gifting a small appliance. The Hommater S210L fits certain recipients and situations well — and misses the mark for others. Based on listing specs and repeated owner feedback, these are the best matches.

The new-apartment starter

Why it fits: The listing calls it a first-apartment necessity and the toaster is compact (13" x 5" x 7") with basic functions that cover most breakfast needs. Assumption: the recipient wants a simple, reliable two-slice toaster rather than a premium, all-metal model.

The practical college student or dorm resident

Why it fits: LED countdown, multiple browning levels and a bagel/defrost program make mornings easier. Assumption: the dorm or shared-kitchen setup can use an 800-watt, two-slice appliance and has counter space for a small toaster.

The minimal-counter household or couple

Why it fits: Two slices are enough for one or two people; owners report even toasting and consistent results, which is valuable for a routine appliance. Assumption: they don't need extra-long slot capacity for oversized artisan loaves.

The gift for someone who dislikes guessing browning

Why it fits: Owners repeatedly praise the LED countdown timer as a non-guesswork solution — a practical quality-of-life upgrade for anyone who burns or under-toasts bread.

The host who needs a solid, budget-friendly backup

Why it fits: It’s affordable, easy to clean (removable crumb tray) and has bagel/defrost/reheat features that handle most casual hosting needs. Assumption: host doesn’t specifically want a premium stainless-steel or designer toaster.

In daily use

Owner feedback gives the clearest picture of daily performance. Across many buyers the pattern is consistent: the Hommater S210L does what a toaster should — and its LED countdown is the standout usability feature.

Performance & consistency

Reported repeatedly by owners: the toaster toasts evenly, corner to corner, and delivers consistent results when you learn which of the nine browning settings matches your preferences. Multiple owner notes describe the countdown as "helpful" or "taking the mystery out of toasting." One owner framed it as replacing the fiddly knob(s) that can burn toast even on lower settings.

Speed and heating

The listing specifies 800 watts and owners describe quick heating. No owner reports of unusually slow cycles appeared in the research notes. Owners do mention that the toaster can get hot and that using the lever to pull up toast early is sometimes necessary if you prefer a cooler surface to grab.

Slot fit and real bread behavior

The listing calls the slots “1.5 Inches Extra Wide” and explicitly notes that they can fit bagels, muffins, waffles and Texas toast. Owner feedback shows a split: while many say bagels fit well and waffles/toast work fine, a recurring complaint is that the slots could be longer — some people have to push down larger slices when starting a cycle. If the recipient frequently uses oversized artisan slices or long sub-style bread, this is a potential annoyance.

Cleaning and cord storage

The toaster includes a removable crumb tray in the listing, and owners appreciate the easy cleaning. A built-in cord storage feature is listed but owner feedback flags the power cord as shorter than expected, which can limit placement flexibility on some counters.

Materials & build quality

The listing lists the materials as plastic and stainless steel with a matte finish; the model number is S210L. Owner descriptions generally call out the toaster as a good value and report solid early build quality. Points to keep in mind:

  • The listing does not claim a fully metal body; it lists a mix of plastic and stainless steel. If you want an all-metal, commercial-feeling toaster, this is not marketed that way.
  • Several owners say the toaster "feels well made for the price" and compliment the dial and display styling. That aligns with the listing's modern aesthetic claims.
  • Common minor complaints in owner notes concern slot length and cord length rather than failing parts. No repeated reports of cracked housing, broken levers or warped pieces appeared in the research notes.

Safety considerations

Gift shoppers should prioritize safety for appliances. Here’s what the listing and owner reports say.

  • Heat: Owners report the toaster gets hot during use and recommend using the lever to raise toast if you’re concerned. That’s a normal toaster behavior but worth noting for kitchens with curious kids or tight counter clearance.
  • Controls: The unit includes a cancel function and a visible LED countdown so you can stop cycles early — both features that reduce runaway toasting and help avoid burned toast and smoke.
  • Cleaning: The removable crumb tray is a safety plus — removing crumbs helps prevent scorching or smoking from accumulated debris.
  • Cord length and placement: The listing mentions built-in cord storage but does not specify cord length. Owner feedback flags the cord as short, which can force customers to place the toaster closer to outlets or use an extension. That raises a placement consideration more than a direct safety defect, but it’s a practical constraint: avoid running cords across counters or near stove burners.
  • Certifications: The listing does not specify safety certifications or approvals in the provided product facts. If certifications or agency approvals matter to you, verify the current listing or manufacturer documentation before buying.

Who should skip it

This model is useful for many, but skip it if any of the following gift-recipient realities are true:

  • The recipient needs a four-slice or extra-long-slot toaster for large families or frequent entertaining. This is explicitly a two-slice model with slots described as 1.5 inches wide and owner reports about slot length.
  • They prefer an all-metal, heavy-duty aesthetic — the listing lists plastic and stainless steel and the finish is matte plastic/stainless mix.
  • They require a long power cord or flexible countertop placement — owners report the cord is short, and the listing does not specify cord length.
  • They need verified safety certifications or professional kitchen-grade specifications — the listing does not provide that information in the product facts provided here.

Verdict

Buy / Maybe / Skip decision for gift shoppers: Buy for practical, budget-conscious recipients who want an easy-to-use, consistent 2-slice toaster with a visible countdown and a bagel/defrost/reheat toolkit. Maybe if the recipient sometimes eats extra-long or thick artisan slices, wants a premium metal finish, or needs a long power cord. Skip if the recipient needs more capacity, an all-metal build, or verified workplace-grade safety certifications.

Why choose it

The listing-backed features — 800 watts, 9 browning settings, a clear LED countdown, and four practical functions (bagel, defrost, reheat, cancel) — combine with repeated owner praise for even toasting and the countdown display to make this a reliable everyday toaster for small households. The removable crumb tray and cord storage (listed) add practical touches for maintenance and storage.

Biggest buying risk

The biggest buying risk is fit: slot length and cord length. The listing advertises "1.5 Inches Extra Wide Slots" and fit for bagels and Texas toast, but owners repeatedly note the slots could be longer for very thick or long slices, and several owners report the power cord is shorter than expected. Those two facts affect where the toaster can be used and what breads it handles comfortably.

Check before you buy (quick checklist)

  • Confirm color and finish on the current listing (the listed color is Black / Black-LED).
  • If slot length matters, measure your typical bread or check seller photos/specs. The listing lists 1.5" extra wide slots but owners report some long slices need pushing down.
  • Verify cord length if outlet placement is tight — the listing does not specify cord length and owners report the cord can be short.
  • Decide whether mixed-plastic and stainless-steel construction fits your aesthetic needs — the listing lists plastic and stainless steel, matte finish.
  • If certifications or warranty specifics are important, check the current product listing or manufacturer documentation — the provided product facts do not list safety certifications or warranty details.

FAQ

How many browning settings are there?

The listing specifies nine adjustable browning control levels, labeled from 1 (light) to 9 (dark).

Does it have a bagel or defrost program?

Yes. The listing lists four basic functions: bagel, defrost, reheat and cancel.

Does it show time remaining while toasting?

Yes. The listing describes a clear LED display that indicates the remaining toasting time, and multiple owner reports praise the countdown display as useful and precise.

What wattage is the toaster?

The product facts list the wattage as 800 watts.

Are the crumb tray and cord storage included?

The listing states the toaster has a removable slide-out crumb tray and built-in cord storage underneath the unit.

How long is the power cord?

The listing does not specify a cord length. Owner feedback repeatedly mentions that the power cord feels short, so if outlet distance is a concern, verify the current listing or plan for an extension.

What materials is the toaster made from?

The product facts list the materials as plastic and stainless steel with a matte finish.

Closing notes for gifters

For a small, practical gift that gets daily use, the Hommater S210L checks the boxes that matter: clear timing, consistent toast, bagel and defrost options, and easy cleaning. It’s a confident pick for first apartments, dorms, and couples who want a reliable two-slice toaster without fuss. Just double-check slot length and outlet placement before you buy for someone who lives on oversized artisan slices or has a crowded counter and limited outlets.

Frequently asked questions

How many browning levels does this toaster have?

The listing specifies nine adjustable browning control levels (1 light to 9 dark).

Does it have a bagel and defrost function?

Yes. The product facts list four basic functions: bagel, defrost, reheat and cancel.

Is there a visible countdown timer?

Yes. The toaster is listed with a clear LED display that shows the remaining toasting time; owners repeatedly praise this feature.

What is the wattage of the toaster?

The listing lists the wattage as 800 watts.

Does it have a removable crumb tray and cord storage?

Yes. The listing states there is a removable slide-out crumb tray and built-in cord storage underneath the unit.

Is the power cord long enough to reach distant outlets?

The listing does not specify cord length; owner feedback repeatedly reports the power cord feels short, so verify if outlet placement is a concern.

What materials is the toaster made from?

The product facts list the materials as plastic and stainless steel with a matte finish.

Think it’s right for your recipient?

Double-check size, age, and species fit on the listing. The same affiliate link covers details and checkout — supports the site at no extra cost to you.

Affiliate disclosure: Links on this page may earn us a commission. You pay the same price; it helps fund more research and comparisons.

See other Ovens & Toasters at Amazon

Not quite it? Find the perfect gift

Tell us who you’re shopping for and we’ll match them to research-backed picks with honest GiftScores.

Answer 5 quick questions — get your 24 personal gift picks 🎁

Who is the gift for?

Pick the person closest to your recipient.

How old are they?

Helps us skip age-inappropriate picks.

Who are they?

We’ll keep gender-specific picks relevant — “Any” is always fine.

What are they into?

Choose up to 6 — this is the biggest driver of great matches.

Budget & occasion

Budget

Occasion (optional)