KIRKLAND

Kirkland Medium Roast Ground Coffee Review

KIRKLAND SIGNATURE Medium Roast Coffee, 2.5 Lb, Brown, 40 Ounce

96.4 GiftScore

Intro

What you have here is a large, everyday bag of ground coffee sold under the Kirkland Signature label: the listing identifies it as Arabica coffee beans that are ground and labeled a medium roast in a 40-ounce (2.5 lb) unit. Owner feedback repeatedly praises a mild, smooth cup and buyers report good value for the size. The listing has a few oddities (see below), so this write-up focuses on who this is reliably good for and what to verify before you buy as a gift.

What it is / first look

At face value the product is a 40-ounce (2.5-pound) package of ground coffee. The listing specifies:

  • Brand / Manufacturer: KIRKLAND / Kirkland Signature
  • Units: 40 Ounce (listed as 2.5 pounds)
  • Bullets on the listing: Arabica coffee beans; Ground Coffee; Medium Roast
  • Full product description fields (as listed): Product Type is shown as "Snack Mix Item"; Item package dimensions and weight are included; Country Of Origin: United States

Those are the hard facts pulled straight from the listing and product description. Owner feedback in our internal notes also repeatedly describes the coffee as mild and smooth, and at least one buyer explicitly calls it "100% Arabica." The listing's wording on origin, roast, and grind is limited to the simple bullets, so a few useful specifics — roast date, single-origin status, or an exact grind range — are not provided in the listing text.

Colors available

  • brown (package)

The product title includes "Brown," which appears to be the package color called out on the listing. There are no image filenames in the product data to infer additional colorways.

Who this is a good gift for

Think of this as a practical, low-friction gift for people who drink coffee regularly and prefer a straightforward, consistent cup rather than boutique or single-origin options. Below are specific recipient fits and the assumptions that must hold true.

The office pot or shared workplace

Why: owners repeatedly call the coffee mild, smooth, and acceptable to a broad group — qualities that work well for communal coffee makers. Assumption: the workplace uses a standard drip brewer and needs a large, low-maintenance bag.

The busy household that goes through coffee

Why: the 2.5 lb / 40 oz unit is explicitly listed and multiple buyers remark that it will take a long time to use up, implying strong value-per-cup for high-volume drinkers. Assumption: the recipient drinks coffee often and can use a big bag before it noticeably loses freshness.

The no-fuss daily drinker who likes a mild cup

Why: owner quotes call out "mild taste," "smooth," and "no bitterness," suggesting the roast profile is approachable. Assumption: the recipient prefers a mellow medium roast rather than a very bright or very dark, oily roast.

The practical gift for neighbors, helpers, or host/hostess

Why: coffee is a safe, low-personalness practical present. The listing frames the product as a ground, medium roast Arabica coffee — enough to be broadly liked without being a high-touch, personal item. Assumption: the recipient drinks caffeinated coffee and doesn’t demand single-origin or micro-roaster detail.

Not a fit if the recipient demands specialty detail

Why: if someone cares about roast date, single-origin provenance, very specific grind for espresso, or small-batch freshness, the listing lacks those specifics. See "Who should skip it."

In daily use

Owners describe the coffee as a straightforward, workhorse-style medium-ground medium roast that makes a mild, smooth cup. That combination of listing bullets (Ground Coffee, Medium Roast) plus owner reports describing it as mild and smooth makes this a sensible pick for everyday brewing where convenience and consistency matter more than specialty characteristics.

Brewing & grind compatibility (what to expect)

The listing tags it as "Ground Coffee," and buyers in internal notes refer to it as a medium ground. That generally aligns with drip coffee makers, office urns, and automatic brewers — the common daily-use setups many recipients will own. The listing does not specify a recommended brewing method or an exact grind size, so if the recipient uses an espresso machine or a very fine/specific grinder, confirm grind suitability on the current listing before gifting.

How long it lasts

The unit weight (2.5 lb / 40 oz) is confirmed in the product specs. Owner feedback explicitly notes the bag is large and will take a long time to use, which is a selling point for high-volume drinkers but a caution for single-person households who might prefer smaller, fresher bags. The listing does not provide roast date or explicit freshness window.

Materials & build quality

For coffee, "materials" translates to bean type, roast level, grind, and sourcing transparency. The listing states:

  • Arabica coffee beans
  • Ground Coffee
  • Medium Roast
  • Country Of Origin: United States (from the full product description fields)

Owner commentary strengthens those bullets: several buyers explicitly praise the flavor and identify it as Arabica (one buyer calls it "100% Arabica"). Beyond that, the listing does not disclose origin region (beyond the U.S. country tag in the description), farm, or roast date. If those provenance details matter to the recipient, the listing's minimal sourcing info is a limitation.

Safety considerations

There are no listing claims about certifications, allergens, or special processing. Practical safety points, grounded in the listing, include:

  • The product is a ground coffee product listed as medium roast — the listing does not describe it as decaffeinated, so verify that on the seller's page if caffeine avoidance is a concern for the recipient.
  • The full product description shows a Country Of Origin: United States; the listing does not offer further processing or certification details (organic, fair trade, etc.).
  • The listing gives item package dimensions and weight but not package type (bag with valve, canister, resealable pouch) — confirm packaging if sealed freshness or resealability matters for gifting.

Because the listing is light on safety-adjacent claims, the main step for a buyer is to check packaging and decaf/specific processing on the current product page before giving the bag to someone with specific dietary or sensitivity restrictions.

Who should skip it

  • Anyone who only drinks decaf — the listing does not indicate this is decaffeinated, and owner notes describe it as a standard medium roast.
  • Specialty coffee fans who demand single-origin beans, roast date transparency, or small-batch micro-roasts — the listing provides only "Arabica" and "medium roast" without deeper provenance or freshness details.
  • Espresso-only brewers who need a fine, dark roast specifically tailored to espresso — the product is listed as a medium roast and ground, with no espresso-specific claim.
  • Low-volume single drinkers who want maximum freshness from small bags — multiple owners note the bag's large size (2.5 lb) which is great for volume but a potential freshness risk if someone uses very little coffee.

Verdict

The Kirkland Signature Medium Roast ground coffee is a clear, straightforward, value-oriented everyday coffee: the listing calls it Arabica, ground, and medium roast in a 40-ounce (2.5 lb) unit, and owners repeatedly praise a mild, smooth, non-bitter cup. That makes it a reliable practical gift for offices, busy households, or people who prefer an unfussy daily brew.

It's not the right present for specialty-coffee devotees who expect roast-date transparency, single-origin provenance, or espresso-oriented grinds. The listing is deliberately minimal about provenance and packaging details, so the main risk for gift-givers is giving a large bag that doesn't match the recipient's specific preferences.

Check before you buy (short checklist)

  • Confirm grind size and whether the bag will suit the recipient's brewer (the listing says "Ground Coffee" and owners call it medium ground, but the listing doesn't specify exact grind).
  • Verify whether the product is caffeinated or decaf on the current listing (the bullets do not say "decaf").
  • Look for packaging details (resealable bag, valve, canister) if freshness after opening is important — the listing gives package dimensions but not reseal claims.
  • If provenance, organic certification, or roast date matters, check the live seller/manufacturer information — those details are not in the listing bullets.
  • Confirm the unit size matches your gifting goal (the spec lists 40 oz / 2.5 lb). If the recipient is a light drinker, consider a smaller bag instead.

Bottom line: buy if the recipient wants a crowd-pleasing, mild medium roast in a big value-sized bag; skip or double-check if they demand specialty-coffee specifics.

Frequently asked questions

What roast and grind does the listing specify?

The listing identifies this product as a medium roast and lists it as ground coffee; internal owner notes describe it as a medium ground suitable for standard drip brewing.

Is this 100% Arabica or a blend?

The listing's bullets say "Arabica coffee beans." At least one owner in the feedback describes it as "100% Arabica," but the listing itself does not present a percent breakdown or formal single-origin claim.

How big is the bag and how much does it weigh?

Product specifications list the unit as 40 Ounce (shown as 2.5 pounds) with product dimensions provided in the listing fields.

Does the listing say where the beans come from or give a roast date?

The full product description includes a Country Of Origin: United States, but the listing does not specify roast date or single-origin farm/region details.

Is this decaf or regular caffeinated coffee?

The listing does not indicate that this is decaffeinated; it is described as a standard medium roast ground coffee. If decaf is required, verify the current listing before purchasing.

What packaging type and resealability does the listing give?

The listing provides item package dimensions and weight but does not specify the package type (resealable pouch, valve bag, canister). Confirm packaging details on the seller page if resealability matters.

Think it’s right for your recipient?

Double-check size, age, and species fit on the listing. The same affiliate link covers details and checkout — supports the site at no extra cost to you.

Affiliate disclosure: Links on this page may earn us a commission. You pay the same price; it helps fund more research and comparisons.

See other Beverages at Amazon

Not quite it? Find the perfect gift

Tell us who you’re shopping for and we’ll match them to research-backed picks with honest GiftScores.

Answer 5 quick questions — get your 24 personal gift picks 🎁

Who is the gift for?

Pick the person closest to your recipient.

How old are they?

Helps us skip age-inappropriate picks.

Who are they?

We’ll keep gender-specific picks relevant — “Any” is always fine.

What are they into?

Choose up to 6 — this is the biggest driver of great matches.

Budget & occasion

Budget

Occasion (optional)