Shepherd Boy Farms

Shepherd Boy Farms Duck Heart Freeze-Dried Treats Review

Shepherd Boy Farms Freeze Dried Dog and Cat Treats, Duck Heart, All Natural Freeze-Dried Dog Treat & Snack, Made in USA, High in Protein, Essential Nutrition of Raw Food, Single Ingredient 3oz

97.4 GiftScore

Intro

Shepherd Boy Farms Freeze Dried Duck Hearts is a single-ingredient freeze-dried treat listed for both dogs and cats. The listing positions it as a high-protein, low-fat organ-meat snack and food topper that’s made in the U.S., third-party batch tested, and produced in an SQF Level II certified facility. Owners repeatedly report that pets go crazy for them, but buyer feedback also flags a few practical issues — notably uneven size, firm texture, and sometimes visible fat on pieces. This review lays out the real-world pros and the gift risks so you can decide if this small 3-ounce bag is the right small, practical present for the pet owner on your list.

What it is / first look

At the listing level, this is a 3.04-ounce bag of freeze-dried duck hearts shaped like small hearts and sold as a single-ingredient treat for cats and dogs. The product is described as:

  • Single-ingredient: duck heart (the listing repeatedly emphasizes "single ingredient").
  • Freeze-dried: the listing says the process locks in natural flavors and nutrients.
  • Made in the USA: Shepherd Boy Farms says it freeze-dries every product in Greensburg, Indiana and that meats are USA-sourced except for rabbit and venison.
  • Manufacturing claims: the company says it third-party lab tests every batch and operates an SQF Level II certified facility.
  • Product form and size: bagged, listed package dimensions are 8.78 x 5.83 x 2.24 inches and weight 3.04 ounces. Age range listed as "All Life Stages."

Owner feedback (themes from buyers) gives the practical follow-up: dogs and cats love the taste, pieces are often larger and harder than expected, some pieces show visible fat, and many owners slice pieces smaller for training or for small dogs/puppies. Several owners call the product pricey but worth it because their pets prefer these to other treats.

Who this is a good gift for

This is a small, practical present — not a romantic or decorative gift — and it works best for particular pet-owner situations. The listing and owner reports help match the item to recipients.

The picky eater or picky cat owner

Why it fits: multiple owners report the duck hearts are highly palatable — they describe dogs and cats as excited and motivated by these treats. Assumption: the recipient wants stronger-flavored, meat-forward treats to entice a picky pet.

The raw/limited-ingredient diet shopper

Why it fits: the listing emphasizes single-ingredient, additive-free claims and markets the treats for limited diets and allergies. Assumption: the recipient is already choosing limited-ingredient or raw-style toppers and verifies ingredient sourcing with their vet.

The trainer who needs high-value, high-protein rewards

Why it fits: owners use small slices as training rewards and report dogs respond strongly. Assumption: the trainer can slice or break the hearts into small pieces and wants a dense, protein-rich reward.

The large-dog household that wants chunkier treats

Why it fits: several buyers say the pieces are larger and work well as a single treat for big dogs. Assumption: the recipient owns medium-to-large dogs and prefers bigger, meatier treats rather than tiny kibble-sized rewards.

The gift for someone who prefers U.S.-made pet products

Why it fits: the listing states the freeze-drying happens in Greensburg, Indiana, and that meats are USA-sourced (with limited exceptions noted). Assumption: the recipient values domestic sourcing and certification claims and will verify current sourcing info if important.

In daily use

What you can expect from everyday handling is a mix of listing promises and owner experience. The listing markets the product as a treat and a food topper; buyer notes show how people actually use it.

How owners feed it

  • Treats/training: Owners slice pieces into small bits for training or as high-value rewards. Multiple reports emphasize slicing because the hearts can be large or hard.
  • Food topper: Buyers put small pieces on kibble or mix them into meals to stimulate appetite — one owner reported a picky lab suddenly eating breakfast when a bit was added.
  • Snack or enrichment: Some owners give whole pieces to large dogs as a single snack; others break into halves or quarters for smaller dogs or cats.

How the product behaves

  • Texture: owners consistently describe the pieces as "very hard" or "firm," which is part of why slicing is common.
  • Size variability: several owners call out uneven sizing — some pieces are much larger than others — so you might need to portion on the spot.
  • Smell/crumble: buyer reports mention "no smell" and "no crumbling" for many customers, which suggests a stable freeze-dried product that holds shape in handling.

Packaging and storage

The listing identifies the container as a bag and gives package dimensions and the 3.04-ounce weight. The listing does not specify whether the bag is resealable or whether the product requires refrigeration after opening; the manufacturer does state freeze-drying locks in nutrients, but specific reuse or storage instructions are not provided in the listing copy. That makes storage behavior unclear without checking the current product page or packaging.

Materials & build quality

For a food product, "materials" translates to ingredients, sourcing, and processing. The listing provides several explicit claims and product-category facts:

  • Ingredients: listed as single-ingredient duck heart. The "Special Ingredients" field and bullet features repeat that the treats are composed solely of duck heart.
  • Diet claims: the listing labels the product additive-free, with no added antibiotics, no added hormones, no artificial colors or flavors, and non-GMO. These are presented as listing/manufacturer claims.
  • Nutrient claims: described as high in protein, low calorie, low carb, no added sugar, and naturally containing taurine, B vitamins, and iron. These nutrient claims appear in the listing fields and marketing bullets.
  • Processing and sourcing: the listing says Shepherd Boy Farms freeze-dries in-house in Greensburg, Indiana and that almost all meats are USA-sourced (exceptions called out for rabbit and venison). The listing also states every batch is third-party lab tested and the facility has SQF Level II certification.

Owner notes that speak to "quality" include repeated praise for taste and pet acceptance and calls for better value vs. price. The consistent theme is that the raw input (duck heart) is flavorful and preserved successfully by freeze-drying, but that physical trim/fat content and piece consistency vary from bag to bag.

Safety considerations

Safety is the priority when gifting pet food. Use these points from the listing and owner feedback to weigh risk.

  • All-life-stages label: the listing lists the Age Range as "All Life Stages," but that’s a general product field — always confirm with a vet for puppies, kittens, pregnant pets, or pets with medical conditions.
  • Fat content: multiple owners warn that many hearts have visible fat or larger-than-expected fatty areas. Owners specifically say high fat could be a problem for pets with pancreatitis or fat-sensitive diets. Treat that as a real, repeated buyer warning.
  • Choking / size risk: owners repeatedly describe the pieces as "big bites" and "very hard," and several explicitly slice the product before feeding to small dogs, puppies, or for training use. This is a clear practical safety note: cut into smaller pieces for small mouths and supervise the pet while eating.
  • Manufacturing safety claims: the listing states every batch is third-party lab tested and that the facility is SQF Level II certified. Treat those as the manufacturer’s quality and safety claims; they reduce certain sourcing risks but don’t remove the need to check ingredient suitability for an individual pet.
  • Allergy & ingredient clarity: the listing markets the product for allergies and limited diets because it’s single-ingredient. If a pet is allergic to duck specifically, of course this would not be appropriate — verify the pet’s known allergies before gifting.

Who should skip it

  • Owners of dogs with known pancreatitis or strict low-fat medical diets — several buyers call out visible fat on some hearts as a problem.
  • Those who expect soft chewable treats or dehydrated jerky — owner reports say these are firm, often very hard, and usually require cutting for small dogs or training pieces.
  • People who need gift-ready or decorative packaging — the listing is for a small bag; it doesn’t mention gift packaging or presentation and the bag size is compact (3.04 oz).
  • Buyers who can’t or won’t portion treats — the size variability and hardness mean thoughtful portioning is helpful; if someone prefers ready-to-serve, uniform-bite treats, this may be inconvenient.

Verdict

Shepherd Boy Farms Freeze-Dried Duck Hearts are a focused, high-protein single-ingredient treat with strong likability among pets — owner reports are clear that dogs and cats tend to love them. The manufacturer-level claims around third-party testing and an SQF Level II facility are meaningful selling points for safety-minded shoppers, and the product’s single-ingredient profile suits limited-ingredient or raw-style feeding approaches.

Where this product is a high-confidence gift: for a pet owner who values single-ingredient, U.S.-processed treats and has medium- to large-sized dogs or a pet that tolerates higher-fat organ meat. It’s an excellent small add-on gift for trainers or anyone trying to entice a picky eater.

Where it’s riskier: for small-dog owners who won’t cut pieces, for pets with pancreatitis or strict low-fat requirements, and for shoppers who expect soft, uniform treats out of the bag. The recurring owner warnings about firm texture, big/uneven pieces, and occasional visible fat are real and should guide your gift choice.

Check before you buy

  • Confirm the recipient’s pet has no duck allergy and no medical need for a strictly low-fat diet.
  • Ask whether the recipient wants single-ingredient freeze-dried toppers or prefers softer, uniform training treats.
  • Verify portioning expectations — if gifting to a small-dog household, the recipient will likely need to slice pieces before feeding.
  • Check the current product listing or packaging for storage and reseal instructions (the listing does not specify if the bag is resealable or needs special storage).

FAQ

  • Q: What’s actually in the bag?

    A: The listing describes the product as single-ingredient duck heart — no other ingredients are listed.

  • Q: Is this suitable for cats and dogs of any age?

    A: The listing lists the Age Range as "All Life Stages," but buyers should confirm with their veterinarian for puppies, kittens, or pets with health issues because the listing also notes the product is high in protein and the owner feedback notes variable fat content.

  • Q: How much product comes in the bag?

    A: The packaged unit is 3.04 ounces (listed package weight and unit count).

  • Q: Are these made in the USA?

    A: The listing says Shepherd Boy Farms freeze-dries all products in Greensburg, Indiana and that meats are sourced in the USA with stated exceptions for rabbit and venison.

  • Q: Are there safety or quality certifications?

    A: The listing claims every batch is third-party lab tested and that the facility is SQF Level II certified. Those are manufacturer claims presented on the product page.

  • Q: Are these small enough for training or puppies?

    A: Owner feedback repeatedly describes the pieces as "big bites" and "very hard," and many buyers cut them into smaller pieces for training or for puppies. Expect to portion for small mouths; the listing itself lists both "All Breed Sizes" and a field showing "Dog Breed Size: Large."

  • Q: Do they have a strong smell or crumble easily?

    A: Multiple owners report the treats have little to no smell and do not crumble, though sizes vary.

  • Q: Is this product good for pets with allergies?

    A: The listing markets the product as good for allergies and limited diets because it’s single-ingredient and labeled additive-free. If a pet is allergic to duck specifically, of course it would not be suitable.

Final buying note (gift perspective)

If you need a small, practical add-on for a pet owner who prioritizes ingredient transparency and flavor, this 3-ounce bag is a good, specialty-style choice — especially for owners of medium or large dogs or picky pets. For small-dog households, pets with pancreatitis or strict low-fat needs, or anyone who wants a gift-ready, uniformly bite-sized treat, consider a different option unless the recipient is happy to portion and slice at home. The biggest real-world gift risk is the product’s firm texture, uneven piece size, and occasional visible fat — all repeated owner flags that matter for safety and convenience.

Colors/packaging note: The listing identifies the product form as a bag and gives dimensions and weight; listing images were not included here, so packaging color specifics are not provided by the listing.

Frequently asked questions

What’s the ingredient list?

The listing describes this product as single-ingredient duck heart — no other ingredients are listed.

Is this made in the USA?

The listing says Shepherd Boy Farms freeze-dries products in Greensburg, Indiana and that meats are USA-sourced except for rabbit and venison.

Is the bag resealable or does it need refrigeration after opening?

The listing does not specify whether the bag is resealable or any particular storage requirements after opening.

Are these suitable for small dogs or puppies?

Owner feedback repeatedly notes the pieces are often large and very hard; many buyers slice them into small pieces for training or for small dogs and puppies.

Will these cause allergy problems?

The listing markets the product for allergies and limited diets because it’s single-ingredient and additive-free, but if a pet is specifically allergic to duck, this product would not be appropriate.

How much product is in the package?

The package weight/unit count is listed as 3.04 ounces (3 oz).

Think it’s right for your recipient?

Double-check size, age, and species fit on the listing. The same affiliate link covers details and checkout — supports the site at no extra cost to you.

Affiliate disclosure: Links on this page may earn us a commission. You pay the same price; it helps fund more research and comparisons.

See other Food at Amazon

Not quite it? Find the perfect gift

Tell us who you’re shopping for and we’ll match them to research-backed picks with honest GiftScores.

Answer 5 quick questions — get your 24 personal gift picks 🎁

Who is the gift for?

Pick the person closest to your recipient.

How old are they?

Helps us skip age-inappropriate picks.

Who are they?

We’ll keep gender-specific picks relevant — “Any” is always fine.

What are they into?

Choose up to 6 — this is the biggest driver of great matches.

Budget & occasion

Budget

Occasion (optional)