Gear check
tarte Face Tape Pressed Powder review — medium-coverage matte powder
tarte face tape pressed powder – Medium-Coverage Waterproof Powder with Hyaluronic Acid, Snow Mushroom & Peptides to Smooth & Set Makeup, Lightweight, Vegan & Cruelty Free
How the GiftScore is calculated
| Signal | Reading | Pts |
|---|---|---|
| Base rating | 4.6★ | +92.0 / 100 |
| Review volume confidence | Healthy review crowd | +1.3 (min -2) |
| Critical owner-feedback signal | No clear signal | +0.0 (min -2) |
| GiftScore Build & Materials | 80/100 | +1.2 (min -3) |
| GiftScore Safety Signals | 82/100 | +1.3 (min -4) |
| GiftScore Long-term Durability | 78/100 | +1.1 (min -3) |
| Final GiftScore | 96.9 | |
Base rating is an estimated baseline from the owner feedback we have available across Amazon reviews and any credible web sources we reviewed. GiftScore editorial signals (build, safety, longevity) are scored independently of that baseline — they reflect what owner feedback and product specs actually say about the product. Some signals are skipped when they don't fit the product type.
Intro
The tarte Face Tape Pressed Powder is billed as a medium-coverage, natural-matte powder foundation that also includes hydrating and skin-smoothing ingredients. The listing describes a MoistureDrench complex with hyaluronic acid and snow mushroom plus peptides, and claims 16-hour waterproof longwear backed by a small clinical/consumer panel. Owner feedback in our research skews positive: buyers repeatedly praise the coverage, the non-cakey finish, and the way it wears on mature skin.
Two practical limits you should know up front: the listing doesn't supply a full public ingredient line in the product facts block we have here, and the available "sizes" are listed only as 1–4 without per-size net weight or volume. Those omissions make shade selection and exact value-per-ounce harder to judge from the listing alone. Otherwise the product listing, the manufacturer copy, and buyer impressions give enough real-world signals to make a reasonable gift decision if you match shade and return policy to the recipient.
What it is / first look
What the listing presents: the Face Tape Pressed Powder is a pressed powder foundation with medium coverage and a natural matte finish. It is described as a skin-mimicking powder that minimizes creasing, caking and the look of lines while absorbing excess oil and blurring pores. The formulation is listed as containing a MoistureDrench complex — explicitly citing hyaluronic acid and snow mushroom — and other ingredients called out include apple fruit extract and matrixyl 3000 (a peptide blend) that the manufacturer says help brighten, smooth and support the look of firmer skin.
The listing states the product is vegan and cruelty free, dermatologist tested, waterproof and that a clinical & consumer panel study (32 subjects) produced the headline claim of 16-hour longwear along with several subjective outcomes: 100% agreed it made their skin look matte, felt weightless on skin, made skin look less oily and covered imperfections. Those are listing/manufacturer claims and are tied to the cited panel study.
Packaging and physical size are partly listed: package dimensions are given as 8.07 x 4.88 x 2.4 inches and weight as 2.65 ounces. The listing also shows a large shade range, with many numbered/shade-name combinations that call out depth and undertone (for example, "27S light-medium sand (light to medium skin with warm, golden undertones)"). The listing shows sizes labeled 1, 2, 3, and 4 but does not specify what those size numbers mean in grams or ounces on the product page data we have.
Who this is a good gift for
Pick a recipient by fitting real-world needs to the product's strengths. Below are specific recipient types and why Face Tape Pressed Powder can work as a thoughtful, useful present — and what must be true for it to land well.
The polished-but-practical makeup user
Why it fits: the product is presented as medium coverage with a natural matte finish and oil control, which suits someone who prefers a put-together, not overly made-up look. Owners praise buildable coverage and a non-cakey finish, so it’s an easy everyday upgrade versus heavier liquid foundations.
Assumption: you either know their undertone/shade or they're comfortable exchanging shades if the match isn't perfect.
The mature-skin friend or relative
Why it fits: several owners specifically praised the powder for older skin, calling out that it didn't emphasize pores or lines and applied smoothly. The listing's copy about minimizing the look of lines and including hydrating actives supports that positioning.
Assumption: the recipient prefers a matte-but-not-flat finish and doesn't need a dewy or luminous product.
The everyday wearer who struggles with shine
Why it fits: the powder is described as absorbing excess oil and blurring pores; the listing and owners say it helps reduce oiliness and lasts. The "waterproof" and "16-hour longwear" callouts are aimed at lasting shine control.
Assumption: the recipient uses powders often and appreciates oil-control products rather than sheer tinted powders.
The cruelty-free/vegan beauty fan
Why it fits: the title and listing explicitly say the product is vegan & cruelty free. That makes it an appropriate choice for someone who prefers those product standards.
Assumption: they don't need independent third-party certification beyond the manufacturer's stated claim.
The thoughtful splurge for a known-shade match
Why it fits: if you already know an exact shade or the recipient’s collection, tarte’s long shade roster (see below) helps you choose. This is a middling-to-premium-brand makeup pick that reads like a considered gift rather than a stocking stuffer.
Assumption: you verify the return/exchange policy before buying in case the shade doesn't match.
In daily use
What owners report in real-world wear: the strongest recurring comments are about smooth coverage and a non-cakey finish. Multiple buyers describe the powder as "lightweight" and "smooth," with a specific appreciation from users who said it works better on mature skin than other drugstore pressed-powders they’d tried. One owner said it was "a game changer" compared to a discontinued powder they loved, which is notable as repeat switching is a common reason people adopt a new compact.
The listing emphasizes medium coverage that you can build or wear lighter — owners echo that by saying coverage is good but not heavy. That combination makes this powder useful in several daily roles: as a setting powder over liquid foundation for someone who wants to mattify and extend wear, or as a standalone pressed-powder foundation for quicker, lighter coverage days.
Longevity and wear performance are called out by the brand (16-hour longwear, waterproof in the listing), and owners commonly report it "wears really well" and stays matte. Those are positive real-world signals but remember the clinical/consumer study sample noted in the listing was 32 subjects; owner impressions are helpful but not a controlled test.
Application tips (grounded in listing & owner language)
- For lighter coverage, apply sparingly with a soft brush or sponge and buff into the skin — owners describe a smooth, blended look when applied gently.
- To build coverage, layer a little at a time rather than packing on product — owners report it builds without looking cakey.
- If the recipient has mature skin and wants to avoid emphasizing lines, the listing and buyers both say this powder minimizes the look of creasing and lines — still, use a light hand where texture is most pronounced.
Materials & build quality
Formulation claims you can rely on from the listing (manufacturer phrasing):
- The product is described as having a MoistureDrench complex with hyaluronic acid and snow mushroom for a brighter, plumper appearance.
- Additional listed actives include apple fruit extract (described as antioxidant-rich) and matrixyl 3000 (a peptide blend the listing says helps improve the appearance of wrinkles).
- The listing calls the powder vegan and cruelty free and states it is dermatologist tested.
Packaging and size: the product listing provides package dimensions (8.07 x 4.88 x 2.4 inches) and a listed weight of 2.65 ounces, and shows sizes labeled 1–4. The listing does not specify per-size net weight or the exact internal compact design in the product facts block we have here.
Owner-sourced quality notes are uniformly positive in our collected themes: buyers like the coverage, the smooth application, and the way it avoids a cakey finish. There are no recurring owner reports in our notes about broken compacts, cracked pans, powder fallout, or packaging problems — what we see is that owners praise finish and coverage rather than the physical durability of the compact.
Safety considerations
What the listing says: dermatologist tested; clinical/consumer panel results are cited for longwear and several subjective benefits. The listing names specific active ingredients (hyaluronic acid, snow mushroom, apple fruit extract, matrixyl 3000) as part of the MoistureDrench complex.
What owners say: no repeat safety complaints appeared in our owner theme notes (for example, no reports of irritation, allergic reaction, or recall in the available themes). However, owner feedback does not substitute for ingredient transparency. The product facts block we have does not include a full ingredient list, so if the recipient has sensitive skin or known ingredient allergies, verify the full ingredients on the current listing or manufacturer documentation before gifting.
Practical precautions to include with the gift:
- Because the listing does not show a full ingredients line in the product facts we have, check the full ingredient list on the live product page or packaging if the recipient has allergic sensitivities.
- The product is described as dermatologist tested, which is a helpful signal but not the same as a guarantee of no reaction for all skin types.
- For skin sensitivity or active-ingredient concerns (for example, allergies to specific botanicals or peptides), recommend a patch test per the recipient’s normal routine and to follow manufacturer instructions.
Who should skip it
This is not a one-size-fits-all powder. Here are clear skip scenarios based on the listing and owner themes:
- If the recipient insists on a dewy or luminous finish: the Face Tape Pressed Powder is described as natural-matte and as absorbing excess oil. Someone who prefers glow or sheer luminous coverage is likely to dislike a matte powder.
- If you cannot reliably guess the shade and the recipient is highly particular about exact matches: despite a broad shade range, choosing a shade remotely can be high risk. Owner notes show some buyers were nervous selecting a shade online, and the listing invites exchanges; check return/exchange policy before giving as a surprise.
- If the recipient requires a full, published ingredient list (for strict sensitivities): the product facts we have here do not include the complete ingredient list, so verify that before gifting to someone with sensitive or reactive skin.
Verdict
Bottom line: tarte Face Tape Pressed Powder reads like a thoughtful, practical gift for someone who likes medium coverage, a natural-matte finish, and brands that call out skincare-style actives in makeup. The listing’s MoistureDrench claims (hyaluronic acid, snow mushroom) plus owner praise for non-cakey, smooth coverage make it a good pick for mature skin or someone who wants oil-control without heavy, mask-like coverage.
Gift confidence is highest when you know the recipient’s shade or can confirm an easy exchange/return option ahead of time. Treat the product as a mid-range beauty splurge that’s best for a recipient who already wears powders or who is comfortable with shade-swapping. The biggest single buying risk is uncertainty around exact shade and the fact that the listing data we have doesn’t show a full ingredient list or per-size net weight.
Check before you buy (quick checklist)
- Confirm the recipient’s approximate shade and undertone — tarte lists numerous shades with explicit undertone notes (warm, cool, neutral, honey, sand, etc.).
- Verify the return/exchange policy so a shade swap is easy if you’re gifting without the recipient present.
- Check the current product page for the full ingredient list if the recipient has skin sensitivities or ingredient allergies; the product facts we had did not include the full list.
- Decide which listed size (1–4) to buy — the listing shows size numbers but does not specify net weight per size in the data we have.
- If the recipient prefers a luminous finish, skip this matte-focused powder.
Final verdict: Buy for the right recipient (matte-preferring, medium-coverage lover, someone who values vegan/cruelty-free makeup) — otherwise, confirm shade and ingredients first.
FAQ
Q: What coverage and finish does Face Tape Pressed Powder have?
A: The listing describes medium coverage with a natural matte finish and a skin-mimicking powder meant to minimize creasing, caking and the look of lines while absorbing excess oil.
Q: Is this powder hydrating or drying?
A: The listing positions the formula as hydrating via a MoistureDrench complex that includes hyaluronic acid and snow mushroom and highlights ingredients intended to brighten and plump skin.
Q: Does it actually last a long time?
A: The manufacturer copy cites clinical and consumer panel results (32 subjects) claiming 16-hour longwear and waterproof performance; owners in our notes also frequently report that it "wears really well."
Q: Is it vegan and cruelty free?
A: The product title and listing describe the powder as vegan and cruelty free.
Q: How many shades are available and how do they label undertones?
A: The listing shows a large shade roster; each shade label includes a depth and an undertone note (examples: "27S light-medium sand (light to medium skin with warm, golden undertones)", "16N fair-light neutral (fair to light skin with a balance of warm & cool undertones)").
Q: What size options are there?
A: The listing shows available sizes as 1, 2, 3 and 4, but the product facts block we have does not specify the net weight or volume for each size.
Q: Is it safe for sensitive skin?
A: The listing states the product is dermatologist tested. However, a full ingredient list is not provided in the product facts we have here, so if the recipient has known sensitivities, check the live product page or packaging for the complete ingredient list before gifting.
Frequently asked questions
What coverage and finish does this powder have?
The listing describes medium coverage with a natural matte finish and a skin-mimicking powder that minimizes creasing, caking and the look of lines while absorbing excess oil.
Does the formula hydrate the skin?
The product is advertised with a MoistureDrench complex that includes hyaluronic acid and snow mushroom, and the listing says these help brighten and plump the appearance of skin.
How long does it claim to wear?
The listing cites a clinical & consumer panel study of 32 subjects and claims 16-hour longwear and waterproof performance.
Is it suitable for vegans or cruelty-free shoppers?
The listing and product title identify the Face Tape Pressed Powder as vegan and cruelty free.
How many shade choices are available?
The listing shows a large shade roster with detailed shade names and undertone notes (examples include 16N fair-light neutral, 27S light-medium sand, 62W espresso warm, and many others).
What sizes are offered?
The listing lists available sizes as 1, 2, 3 and 4, but does not specify the net weight or volume for each size in the product facts we have.
Is it dermatologist tested and safe for sensitive skin?
The listing states the product is dermatologist tested. However, the product facts block we have does not include a full ingredient list, so check the current listing or packaging if the recipient has known sensitivities.
Think it’s right for your recipient?
Double-check size, age, and species fit on the listing. The same affiliate link covers details and checkout — supports the site at no extra cost to you.
Affiliate disclosure: Links on this page may earn us a commission. You pay the same price; it helps fund more research and comparisons.