Taster's Choice
Taster's Choice Original Instant Coffee — Review
Taster's Choice Original Gourmet Instant Coffee 14 Oz, Pack of 3
How the GiftScore is calculated
| Signal | Reading | Pts |
|---|---|---|
| Base rating | 4.7★ | +94.0 / 100 |
| Review volume confidence | Big owner crowd | +1.7 (min -2) |
| Critical owner-feedback signal | No clear signal | +0.0 (min -2) |
| GiftScore Build & Materials | 74/100 | +1.0 (min -3) |
| GiftScore Safety Signals | 82/100 | +1.3 (min -4) |
| GiftScore Long-term Durability | 68/100 | +0.7 (min -3) |
| Final GiftScore | 97.5 | |
Base rating is an estimated baseline from the owner feedback we have available across Amazon reviews and any credible web sources we reviewed. GiftScore editorial signals (build, safety, longevity) are scored independently of that baseline — they reflect what owner feedback and product specs actually say about the product. Some signals are skipped when they don't fit the product type.
Intro
Taster's Choice Original Gourmet Instant Coffee (pack of 3) is the classic, no-frills instant coffee most people recognize. The listing describes it as a house blend and sells the item as three 14-ounce units (42 ounces total). Owner feedback repeatedly praises the taste and value, and several buyers mention that the jars arrived well packed and sealed. This is a short, practical read aimed at gift shoppers: what it is, who will actually like it, everyday use patterns owners report, and the small buying checklist that matters.
What it is / first look
The product is listed as Taster's Choice Original Gourmet Instant Coffee, sold as a pack of three jars (each described as 14 ounces). The listing calls it a "house blend" and highlights that it's instant coffee and a 3-pack. Owners note that the product consistently ships sealed and well packed.
- Pack size: Pack of 3 (units listed total 42 ounces).
- Blend: House Blend, listed by the manufacturer.
- Packaging arrival: Owners report jars were sealed and well packed.
Colors / packaging: the listing does not provide color options. Available colors may include the standard retail packaging — the listing doesn't list colorways or style variations.
Who this is a good gift for
Be specific: instant coffee is not a universally loved present, but it hits several useful recipient types if the assumptions below are true.
The grab-and-go commuter who hates waiting for a brew
Why it fits: owner feedback calls this a good quick option when you don’t want to use a coffee pot. Assumption: the recipient accepts instant coffee as a convenience alternative to fresh brew.
The frequent traveler or camper
Why it fits: instant coffee’s primary appeal is portability and speed. Assumption: the traveler values convenience over single-origin or barista-style drinks.
The budget-conscious household or student
Why it fits: multiple owners describe the product as a good value and praise the taste for the price. Assumption: the recipient wants an everyday cup without specialty-coffee prices.
The relative who already drinks instant coffee (e.g., older family members)
Why it fits: one owner explicitly calls it a family favorite for an in-law. Assumption: you’ve confirmed the recipient already enjoys instant coffee — this is not a safe “convert them” gift.
The home cook who uses coffee in recipes
Why it fits: owner feedback reports adding a small amount to smoothies and recipes. Assumption: the recipient is open to using instant coffee as a flavoring ingredient.
In daily use
Owners describe simple, repeatable use cases: mixing a quick cup when a coffee pot isn’t an option, and occasionally dissolving a bit in hot water to add to smoothies or blended drinks. Typical owner comments praise the taste as “good” or “tasty” for instant coffee and point out the practical benefit of sealed jars on arrival.
- Morning convenience: Reported as a fast cup without brewing equipment.
- Recipe use: Buyers report using a small amount dissolved in water to flavor smoothies with protein powder and yogurt.
- Storage: Owners note jars arrived sealed; the listing does not specify storage recommendations or container material.
Materials & build quality
For a consumable like instant coffee, "build" mostly means packaging and sealing. Owners repeatedly report the items arrive well packed and sealed as expected, which is the main quality signal in the listing data. The listing does not specify the jar material, interior liners, or other packaging materials, nor does it list ingredient details beyond the product name; those omissions matter for buyers who track packaging type or ingredient sourcing.
What the listing does state:
- Brand: Taster's Choice.
- Product: Taster's Choice Original Gourmet Instant Coffee, house blend, pack of 3.
- Unit/pack sizing: each jar is listed as 14 ounces; the pack is three jars (42 ounces total).
What the listing doesn’t say (verify before buying if these matter): container material, ingredient list, origin of the coffee, roast level, or any packaging recyclability claims.
Safety considerations
There are no owner reports in the provided notes of spoilage, contamination, or other acute safety issues. Still, the listing leaves gaps buyers should double-check before gifting:
- Allergens / ingredient transparency: The listing does not provide an ingredients panel or allergen statements; if the recipient has strict food allergies or dietary restrictions, verify the current product packaging or manufacturer documentation.
- Caffeine sensitivity: The listing does not state caffeine content or whether decaf options are included. If the recipient must avoid caffeine, this could be a problem.
- Packaging materials: The listing does not specify jar material or liner composition; if that matters for recycling or contact-safety reasons, confirm with the manufacturer.
Overall safety signal from owner feedback is neutral-to-positive — sealed jars, no recurring contamination or damage complaints appear in the provided owner themes.
Who should skip it
- Anyone who insists on fresh-brewed, single-origin, specialty beans — this is an instant house blend, not a specialty-bean gift.
- People who require decaf or have strict caffeine restrictions — the listing doesn’t specify decaf content.
- Recipients with undeclared food allergies or sensitivity to unknown additives — the listing omits an ingredients panel, so don’t assume it’s safe without checking.
- Those who want premium presentation: instant coffee in bulk jars is a functional present; it isn’t a high-design gift unless you pair it with mugs or a small gift basket.
Verdict
Best gift fit: a practical, low-fuss add-on or main gift for someone who already drinks instant coffee, a traveler, a budget-conscious household, or a relative who prefers quick cups. Owners praise the taste and value, and multiple buyers comment that jars arrive sealed and well packed — all useful signals for gifting.
When to hesitate: if the recipient is a specialty-coffee purist, requires decaf, or has strict ingredient/allergen needs, this isn’t a confident blind buy because the listing doesn’t include ingredient or packaging material details.
Check before you buy
- Confirm the recipient actually uses and likes instant coffee (this product is not a guaranteed convert).
- Verify unit sizes on the current listing (the product is listed as three 14 oz jars — total 42 ounces — but double-check the vendor page at purchase time).
- If allergens, caffeine content, or packaging materials matter, check the manufacturer’s current packaging or product documentation — the listing does not provide ingredient or material details.
- If you need a more premium presentation, plan to pair the jars with mugs, a small brewer, or a gift box.
Bottom line: For a recipient who already drinks instant coffee, this 3-pack of Taster's Choice Original is a sensible, practical gift. The owner signals in the listing support taste and value claims, and sealed packaging on arrival is consistently reported. For everyone else, verify ingredient and caffeine details before gifting.
Frequently asked questions
How much coffee is in each unit and in the pack?
The listing describes each unit as 14 ounces and the product is sold as a pack of three, which the listing lists as 42 ounces total.
What blend or flavor is this?
The listing identifies the product as a house blend named Taster's Choice Original Gourmet Instant Coffee (Original).
Is the product well packaged for gifting/shipping?
Owner feedback in the listing notes that jars arrived well packed and sealed as expected.
Can I use this in recipes like smoothies?
Yes — buyer feedback specifically mentions dissolving a small amount of the coffee in hot water and adding it to smoothies with protein powder and yogurt.
Does the listing specify ingredients or allergens?
The listing does not provide an ingredients panel or allergen statements; the listing doesn't specify those details.
Is this decaf or regular coffee?
The listing identifies the product as Taster's Choice Original (house blend) but does not specify whether it is decaffeinated. The listing doesn't specify caffeine content.
Think it’s right for your recipient?
Double-check size, age, and species fit on the listing. The same affiliate link covers details and checkout — supports the site at no extra cost to you.
Affiliate disclosure: Links on this page may earn us a commission. You pay the same price; it helps fund more research and comparisons.