Waggin' Train
Waggin' Train Chicken Jerky Treats review
Waggin Train Chicken Jerky Dog Treats (36 oz.) (pack of 2)
How the GiftScore is calculated
| Signal | Reading | Pts |
|---|---|---|
| Base rating | 4.7★ | +94.0 / 100 |
| Review volume confidence | Big owner crowd | +1.9 (min -2) |
| Critical owner-feedback signal | No clear signal | +0.0 (min -2) |
| GiftScore Build & Materials | 70/100 | +0.8 (min -3) |
| GiftScore Safety Signals | 62/100 | +0.5 (min -4) |
| GiftScore Long-term Durability | 65/100 | +0.6 (min -3) |
| Final GiftScore | 97.5 | |
Base rating is an estimated baseline from the owner feedback we have available across Amazon reviews and any credible web sources we reviewed. GiftScore editorial signals (build, safety, longevity) are scored independently of that baseline — they reflect what owner feedback and product specs actually say about the product. Some signals are skipped when they don't fit the product type.
Intro
If you're shopping for a straightforward, bulk dog treat that tends to get enthusiastic tail wags, the Waggin' Train Chicken Jerky two-pack is the sort of practical gift that gets used right away. The listing presents these as chicken-breast jerky treats sold in large bags (36 oz per bag, two bags in the pack for a 72-ounce total per the product unit count) and aimed at adult dogs. Owners repeatedly report that their dogs love these, which matters more than a lot of marketing: a treat that actually motivates a dog is a reliable gift for the right owner.
Limitations up front: the listing emphasizes key selling points but does not publish a full ingredient panel or detailed packaging closure information. Because of that, this review flags where you should verify current ingredient and safety details on the seller/manufacturer page before buying as a gift.
What it is / first look
The product is listed as Waggin' Train Chicken Jerky Dog Treats sold as a pack of two bags that combine to 72 ounces. The listing describes the treats as "Delicious Breasts of Real Chicken" and claims "No Artificial Colors, Flavors or Preservatives Added." The item form is listed as pellet/jerky and the age-range description is "Adult," with a recommendation for dogs 5 lbs and over.
Packaging and physical size: the listing shows bag dimensions and total weight for shipment (package dimensions and item weight are provided in the specs). Owners describe the pieces as thinner and chewier relative to some other jerky treats; several people reported breaking strips into smaller pieces for little dogs or older dogs with missing teeth.
Who this is a good gift for
Think about the dog and the owner. This is a practical pantry-style gift rather than a novelty or highly personal present. Below are specific recipient types and the assumptions that must be true for the gift to be a good fit.
The trainer or clicker-practice owner
Why it fits: the listing and owner notes position these as useful for training—the product is described with "Specific Uses For Product: Training." Owners say dogs go crazy for them, which is exactly what you want when reinforcing behavior. Assumption: the recipient trains an adult dog (5 lbs and up) and uses small pieces or is comfortable breaking strips into training-sized bites.
The picky-eater owner
Why it fits: multiple owners say their finicky dogs prefer these over other brands and that their dogs clearly favor this jerky. Assumption: the recipient's dog tolerates chicken and has no dietary restrictions that conflict with the product's ingredient profile.
Households with multiple small dogs or mixed mouths
Why it fits: the large two-bag pack is handy when you have several dogs. Owners with multiple small breeds say they break pieces into smaller bits and that their pack lasts. Assumption: the recipient is okay with large bulk packaging and has a plan to keep the leftovers fresh.
The bulk-buyer who shops warehouse/stock-up
Why it fits: the two-pack size and total unit count suggest a bulk purchase. Owners who used store versions previously liked the price/value when compared to single-bag retail. Assumption: the recipient wants a bulk option and has storage space and appetite for large treats.
Not a fit for: people who want extremely small, individually wrapped training bites, or those buying for puppies or dogs under 5 lbs. The listing states "Age Range Description: Adult" and "Treats for Adult Dogs 5 lbs. & Over," so check those facts against the recipient's dog.
In daily use
How owners actually use this product and what to expect day-to-day.
Training and motivation
Owners consistently describe these as high-value motivators: buyers say their dogs will "do just about anything for one of these" and that picky dogs prefer them. That makes the bags useful for training sessions, quick rewards during walks, or as a bedtime treat.
Portioning and treating older or small dogs
Several owners note the pieces are larger or thinner than other jerky strips and that they break them into halves or smaller bits for small or toothless dogs. The listing's recommended-size guidance (adult dogs 5 lbs and over) is a helpful baseline, but owners’ real-world workaround is to pre-cut strips into treat-size portions.
Storage and freshness
A recurring owner theme: packaging and freshness. Multiple buyers called out better packaging as needed to maintain freshness in large packages. One common report was that a bag arrived smashed during shipping, which affected usability. The listing does not specify whether the bags have a resealable closure, so assume you may want to transfer extras to an airtight container or resealable tub at home to keep pieces from drying out.
Value and frequency
Owner sentiment on value is mixed. Several reviewers call it "good value" because their dogs love the product and they can buy in bulk, while others say recent price increases make the product feel expensive. Expect that the recipient who feeds treats regularly will go through the bags faster and thus feel the price sensitivity more than an owner who gives these sparingly.
Materials & build quality
For a consumable, "materials" translates to ingredients and perceived product composition. The listing advertises "Delicious Breasts of Real Chicken" and claims "No Artificial Colors, Flavors or Preservatives Added." The specifications show "Special Ingredients: Chicken" and the product is labeled flavor: chicken.
Owners repeatedly point out that the treats appear simple in ingredient composition—some buyers explicitly praise the limited ingredient list. But the listing does not publish a full guaranteed-analysis panel or exact ingredient list in the provided data here, so if ingredient transparency matters to your giftee (for allergy, vet diet, or ingredient-preference reasons), verify the current seller/manufacturer listing before buying.
Safety considerations
Gift shoppers should treat safety first. The listing labels these as for "Adult" dogs and "Treats for Adult Dogs 5 lbs. & Over," which helps avoid giving them to very small puppies, but there are a few practical cautions drawn from owner feedback and external reporting.
Choking / portion size
Owners frequently mention breaking pieces for smaller or older dogs. If the recipient's dog has dental issues or is very small, this product may require pre-cutting into tiny pieces, which is an extra step the owner needs to take. The listing does not specify individual piece size or number of pieces per bag, so treat portioning as part of the daily routine.
Ingredient and dietary safety
The listing claims no artificial colors, flavors, or preservatives added and emphasizes real chicken breasts, and the product spec lists "Special Ingredients: Chicken." That is a manufacturer/listing claim. If the recipient's dog has an allergy, a restricted veterinary diet, or special nutritional needs, verify the currently posted ingredient panel and consult the recipient or their veterinarian before gifting. The product spec also lists "Animal Food Diet Type: Veterinary Diet," which is a listing attribute—interpret that as a label in the product facts, and not as veterinary approval or a substitute for veterinary advice.
Past product-safety context
A non-Amazon source listed in the discovery results reports that chicken jerky treats from several brands, including Waggin' Train, have been part of past recall discussions. Because public-safety actions and product status can change over time, confirm any current recall or safety notices on the manufacturer's or seller's page before gifting.
Who should skip it
- Owners of puppies or dogs under 5 lbs — the listing describes the product for adult dogs 5 lbs and over.
- Dogs on a restricted veterinary diet unless the recipient’s vet approves the specific product — check the listing and confirm with the vet.
- People who need very small, individually packaged training bites — these are bulk strips and may require pre-cutting.
- Buyers who expect premium, protected packaging — multiple owners note packaging and smashed-bag incidents during shipping; if pristine, individually wrapped treats are required, consider another option.
Verdict
Bottom line for gift shoppers: this is a practical, no-nonsense bulk treat that many dogs love. It’s a strong choice when you already know the recipient’s dog is an adult and enjoys chicken jerky textures, and when the recipient appreciates bulk buying and can store or portion treats at home. The main gift risks are packaging/freshness during shipping, occasional price sensitivity, and the absence of a published full ingredient list in the provided data here.
Best gift fit
Buy it for a trainer, a picky-eater dog owner, or a multi-dog household where the recipients appreciate bulk treats. If you’re uncertain about the dog’s size or diet, this is a "maybe" rather than a slam-dunk gift; pick something lower-risk or verify the dog's needs first.
Check before you buy
- Confirm the recipient’s dog is an adult and 5 lbs or heavier (the listing lists "Adult" and "Treats for Adult Dogs 5 lbs. & Over").
- Verify the current ingredient panel on the seller/manufacturer page if the dog has allergies or dietary restrictions—the provided product data here does not include a full ingredient list.
- Ask whether the recipient wants bulk bags or prefers smaller, individually portioned treats.
- Check the current listing/manufacturer page for any active recalls or safety notices before gifting; a non-Amazon source in the discovery notes mentions past recall activity involving chicken jerky treats from multiple brands (confirm current status).
- Plan to store opened bags in an airtight container—owner feedback points to freshness concerns with large, opened bags and occasional shipping damage.
Frequently asked questions
How many ounces are in the pack?
The product is sold as a pack of two bags; the listing unit count is 72 ounces total and the title lists 36 oz per bag (two bags).
Are these treats appropriate for puppies?
The listing age-range description is "Adult," and the item is described as treats for adult dogs 5 lbs. & over. The listing does not specify suitability for puppies.
Do the treats contain artificial preservatives or flavors?
The listing claims "No Artificial Colors, Flavors or Preservatives Added."
Are the bags resealable to maintain freshness?
The listing states the container type is a bag but does not specify whether the bags have a resealable closure.
Are there reported safety concerns or recalls?
A non-Amazon source in the discovery notes reports past recall activity involving chicken jerky treats from several brands, including Waggin' Train; the current listing in this product data does not list recall details, so verify current safety notices on the manufacturer/seller page before buying.
How many individual treats are in a bag?
The listing provides package weight and unit count but does not specify the number of individual pieces per bag.
Is this product suitable for small dogs?
The listing specifically notes "Treats for Adult Dogs 5 lbs. & Over." Owners report breaking strips into smaller pieces for small dogs, which is a common workaround.
Think it’s right for your recipient?
Double-check size, age, and species fit on the listing. The same affiliate link covers details and checkout — supports the site at no extra cost to you.
Affiliate disclosure: Links on this page may earn us a commission. You pay the same price; it helps fund more research and comparisons.