Yicostar

Yicostar Heated Pet Bowl Review — Outdoor Heated Water Bowl

Heated Water Bowl for Dogs and Cats,Large Heated Dog Bowl with Chew Resistant Power, Waterproof Heated Pet Bowls for Outside in Winter,Provide Warmable Water for Dogs, Cats,Birds, (Black

96.4 GiftScore

Intro

This is a practical look at the Yicostar Heated Water Bowl for Dogs and Cats (model CX-HBC-3). The listing positions it as a corded, outdoor-ready heated bowl designed to keep water from freezing through cold weather; it’s offered in black, holds 125 ounces, and is made with polypropylene (PP) and a bite-resistant cable, according to the manufacturer. Owners who’ve used it through sub‑freezing nights report it does exactly that — prevents freezing — but also flag a few real-world caveats you should know before gifting.

What it is / first look

The Yicostar Heated Water Bowl is a corded electric heated dish meant for use outdoors with dogs, cats, birds, and small animals. The listing lists the unit as having a 125‑ounce capacity (the product type name is shown as 125oz and capacity is also listed as 7.8 pounds), a model number CX-HBC-3, and a one year warranty from the manufacturer. Physical specs in the listing are 10.04 x 3.94 x 12.99 inches and a shipped item weight of 2.2 pounds.

Materials and construction are described in the listing as Polypropylene (PP), a bite-resistant cable, and internal heating wire. The seller also describes the bowl as made of food-grade material, anti-corrosion, and resistant to cold breakage (these are manufacturer/listing claims, not an independent certification in the product data provided).

The bowl is shown and marketed in black (the listing says color: black). The listing suggests black helps with heat absorption under sunlight and with locking in temperature — that reasoning is presented by the manufacturer in the product copy.

Who this is a good gift for

Practical recipient matches below explain the assumptions required for the gift to be a good fit.

The outdoor cat or barn cat caretaker

Why: Owners repeatedly report the bowl prevents water from freezing at very cold temperatures (some owners specifically mention functioning down around 12°F). Assumption: the recipient feeds outdoor cats or feral/working animals and can run a cord to a sheltered outlet.

The multi‑pet household that refills water frequently

Why: The listed 125‑ounce capacity reduces the need for constant top‑ups for multiple animals. Assumption: the recipient wants a large, single bowl outdoors and has space and an accessible power source.

The host with backyard chickens or small outdoor animals

Why: The listing calls out suitability for chickens, rabbits, and similar animals; owners have used it for a wide range of species. Assumption: the recipient can place the bowl in a sheltered spot and will unplug it when not in use, as the listing recommends.

The gift for a neighbor or community cat feeder

Why: It’s a practical, low‑fuss way to keep water available for feral cats through winter nights. Assumption: the recipient is comfortable running a cord outdoors and following the listed safety instructions.

The pet parent who doesn’t want tiny daily chores

Why: A 125‑oz bowl means fewer refills, which makes the bowl a useful time saver. Assumption: the recipient prefers functional, practical gifts over decorative or high‑design items.

In daily use

Owners report the bowl reliably keeps water from freezing in genuinely cold conditions. Several owner notes describe using the bowl on nights around 12°F with the water staying unfrozen and even visible steam in very cold air — those are direct owner experiences included in the internal research notes.

Power and placement: the bowl is corded electric (the listing lists the power source as "Corded Electric"). The manufacturer advises placing the bowl in a sheltered area to avoid wind damage and to unplug when there is no water in the bowl. That recommendation appears in the listing copy and is echoed by owners who mention choosing sheltered locations for best results.

Energy usage and running cost: the listing describes the product as low‑wattage and automatic, and owners have warned that electric usage will still increase — an owner note bluntly says "Beware, Electric bill will go up!" The listing’s "low‑wattage" claim is the product’s positioning; real owners report measurable changes in household energy use when running it outdoors through very cold weather.

Cleaning and care: the listing includes the note "Do not immerse the pet's thermal bowl in water." That caution is part of the manufacturer instructions included in the listing. Follow the current manufacturer guidance for cleaning and care; the product data does not specify whether parts are dishwasher safe.

Cord length and reach: the listing does not specify a cord length number, but several owners have measured or commented on a long cord (one owner mentioned about 78.72 inches). If outlet access position is a concern, confirm placement and measured cord length with the current product page before buying.

Materials & build quality

What the listing says: The listing names Polypropylene (PP) as the material type, plus a bite‑resistant cable and heating wire. It also calls the plastic "food-grade" and describes the bowl as anti‑corrosion and strong against breakage in the cold — these are manufacturer/listing claims.

Owner signal: buyers describe the bowl as "great quality" in multiple positive notes and say it handles winter temperatures without cracking. There aren’t repeated owner complaints about immediate breakage or parts falling apart in early use in the research notes provided.

Design features worth noting: the listing mentions an upgraded internal thermostat sealed inside the bowl to "better prevent" harm to pets. That is described as a safety‑focused design change in the product copy. The listing also emphasizes a sealed or protected heating system; owners don’t report thermostat failures in the available notes.

Safety considerations

Manufacturer instructions and warnings (from the listing):

  • The product is corded electric; the listing explicitly warns not to immerse the bowl in water.
  • The manufacturer recommends placing the bowl in a sheltered area to avoid wind damage and suggests unplugging when there is no water in the bowl.
  • The listing describes the cable as anti‑chew / bite‑resistant and says the unit uses low‑wattage and automatic operation to conserve energy (these are listing claims).
  • The listing claims the product has passed strict testing before leaving the factory (a manufacturer claim; the listing does not provide independent certifications in the supplied data).

Owner feedback that affects safety expectations:

  • Owners confirm the bowl works outdoors in very cold temperatures, which reduces the hazard of animals trying to drink ice or seek unsafe water sources during freezes.
  • Several owner notes call out the importance of placement and following the "unplug when empty" guidance — unplugging prevents the heater from running dry, which the listing warns against.
  • While the listing claims a bite‑resistant cord, the product data does not include an animal‑proof certification; if the recipient has a known aggressive chewer, the listing recommends caution (this is a buyer precaution you should verify against the recipient’s pets).

Net safety judgement: the bowl has manufacturer features aimed at safety (sealed thermostat, anti‑chew cable, low wattage) and owners report safe winter use; still, the listing’s care instructions — especially "do not immerse" and "unplug when empty" — are important to follow. If you’re gifting to a household with aggressive chewers or no safe, sheltered outdoor outlet, the safety fit weakens.

Who should skip it

  • Anyone without reliable outdoor power access. The bowl is corded electric and needs a sheltered outlet for safe, continuous use (the listing lists the power source as corded electric and explicitly recommends sheltering the bowl).
  • Homes with aggressive chewers that routinely destroy power cords. The listing calls the cable "bite‑resistant," but it is not described as chew‑proof and the product data doesn’t show third‑party cord‑proof certification.
  • People who want indoor decorative gifts or small stocking stuffers. This is a functional outdoor pet appliance with a large footprint and corded setup — it’s a practical main gift, not a small novelty.
  • Homes where someone expects the bowl to deliver high, body‑temperature water. Some owners point out it keeps water from freezing but doesn’t reach the 95–130°F range some buyers report being told to expect from listing text; owner experience shows it keeps water above freezing and warm relative to ambient temperature, but not necessarily at animal body temperature.

Verdict

Gift rating: Buy / Maybe / Skip — buy with small, specific caveats. The Yicostar Heated Water Bowl is an effective, large‑capacity outdoor heated bowl that addresses the common winter problem of frozen water for outdoor cats, dogs, and other small animals. Owners consistently report it keeps water from freezing in very cold nights and praise the large 125‑ounce capacity and long cord in real setups.

Where it shines: it’s a simple, pragmatic winter solution for people caring for outdoor or feral animals, for barns, or for multi‑pet households who want fewer daily refills. The manufacturer lists polypropylene construction, a bite‑resistant cable, and a sealed thermostat design, and owners’ real‑world notes line up with the claim that the bowl stops freezing even in subzero weather.

Where to be cautious: it’s corded (so verify outlet availability), the listing says not to immerse the bowl in water, and while the cable is described as bite‑resistant that is not the same as being chew‑proof for aggressive dogs. Energy usage is described as low‑wattage by the manufacturer, but owners note that running the bowl through very cold stretches will raise electricity use.

Check before you buy

  • Confirm you have a safe, weather‑protected outlet near the intended bowl location (the product is corded electric and the listing recommends sheltered placement).
  • Confirm the recipient wants a 125‑ounce outdoor bowl — that capacity reduces refills but is a large footprint outdoors.
  • Ask whether the household has aggressive chewers. The listing calls the cable bite‑resistant, but the manufacturer’s language isn’t the same as guaranteed chew‑proof protection.
  • Make sure the recipient understands the care notes: "Do not immerse the pet's thermal bowl in water" and unplug when empty (these are manufacturer instructions in the listing).
  • Verify whether the color black fits the recipient’s yard/coop aesthetic. The listing presents the bowl as black and notes black can aid heat absorption under sunlight.
  • Check the one‑year warranty terms on the current product page if the recipient cares about covered defects (the listing lists a 1 year warranty).

FAQ

  • Q: How much water does this bowl hold?

    A: The listing identifies the item as "125oz" (Item Type Name: 125oz) and also lists capacity as 7.8 pounds, so the marketed capacity is 125 ounces according to the product details.

  • Q: Can I use this outdoors in subzero temperatures?

    A: The manufacturer copy states the bowl keeps water above freezing even in subzero temps, and multiple owners report the bowl prevented freezing at around 12°F in their setups.

  • Q: Is the cord chew‑proof?

    A: The listing describes the cable as bite‑resistant and anti‑chew; it is a manufacturer claim. If a pet is an aggressive chewer, the listing's wording suggests caution and you should consider additional cord protection.

  • Q: Can I dunk the bowl in water to clean it?

    A: The listing explicitly warns: "Do not immerse the pet's thermal bowl in water." Follow the manufacturer's care instructions on the current product page for recommended cleaning methods.

  • Q: What power source does it use?

    A: The product details list the power source as "Corded Electric." The listing also describes the product as low‑wattage and automatic (manufacturer claims).

  • Q: Is the bowl made from food‑safe material?

    A: The listing describes the bowl as made of food‑grade material and polypropylene (PP). That phrasing is a manufacturer/listing claim in the product data provided.

  • Q: How long is the cord?

    A: The listing does not provide a cord length figure. Several owners have reported a long cord in use (one owner mentioned approximately 78.72 inches), so if cord reach is critical verify the current product details before purchasing.

  • Q: What warranty is included?

    A: The product details list a 1 year warranty from the manufacturer.

Frequently asked questions

How much water does this bowl hold?

The listing identifies the product as 125oz (Item Type Name: 125oz) and also lists capacity as 7.8 pounds, so its marketed capacity is 125 ounces.

Can it keep water from freezing in very cold weather?

The manufacturer claims it keeps water above freezing even in subzero temperatures, and multiple owners report it prevented freezing at roughly 12°F in their outdoor setups.

Is the cord chew‑proof for dogs that chew everything?

The listing describes the cable as bite‑resistant and anti‑chew (a manufacturer claim). If a pet is an aggressive chewer, the product data suggests exercising caution and considering additional cord protection.

Can I immerse the bowl to clean it?

No — the listing specifically warns 'Do not immerse the pet's thermal bowl in water.' Follow the manufacturer's current cleaning instructions.

What power source does it use?

The product details list the power source as 'Corded Electric' and the listing calls the heater low‑wattage and automatic (manufacturer claims).

What is the material of the bowl?

The listing lists the material type as Polypropylene (PP) and describes the product as made of food‑grade material and anti‑corrosion plastic; that wording comes from the manufacturer.

Is there a warranty?

Yes — the product details state a 1 year warranty from the manufacturer.

Think it’s right for your recipient?

Double-check size, age, and species fit on the listing. The same affiliate link covers details and checkout — supports the site at no extra cost to you.

Affiliate disclosure: Links on this page may earn us a commission. You pay the same price; it helps fund more research and comparisons.

See other Feeding & Watering Supplies at Amazon

Not quite it? Find the perfect gift

Tell us who you’re shopping for and we’ll match them to research-backed picks with honest GiftScores.

Answer 5 quick questions — get your 24 personal gift picks 🎁

Who is the gift for?

Pick the person closest to your recipient.

How old are they?

Helps us skip age-inappropriate picks.

Who are they?

We’ll keep gender-specific picks relevant — “Any” is always fine.

What are they into?

Choose up to 6 — this is the biggest driver of great matches.

Budget & occasion

Budget

Occasion (optional)